Members will be aware that at the end of the Richard Johnson Lunch the Master make presentations to high achieving Royal Marines.  Yesterday was no exception and the following awards were made:

The Cox Cup

The Cox Cup was first presented to the Royal Marine Corps by Past Master Peter Cox in 1991 and is awarded annually to the best student on the Combat Intelligence course this is a demanding 18 week course which trains all Royal Marines intelligence specialists. This year the Cox Cup was presented to to Lance Corporal Julian Cousins for his constant high standards and excellent work, and for achieving 


a Distinction. Since completing his training, Lance Corporal Cousins has been with 42 Commando Royal Marines in the Middle East and is preparing for a deployment to the Falkland Islands as a Spanish linguist.

The Stationers Trophy

The Stationers Trophy was first presented to the Royal Marine Corps by the Stationers’ Company in 1983 and is awarded each year to the top student on the Stores Accountants Class 3 course.This year the Stationers' Trophy was presented to Marine Aled Griffith who achieved a distinguished grade with a

RM2 cropped

final average score of 91% over the five separate examinations.   Marine Griffith is currently employed at Royal Marines Poole.

The Hames Cup

The Hames Cup is a new award this year as the Royal Marines have asked us to separate the award for the best student on the Stores Accountants course from the award to the best student on the Clerks’ course. When a name for this award was being sought that of Peter Hames, former Clerk to the Company, came to mind as someone who has always cherished the relationship between this company and the Royal Marines and who epitomises excellence in clerking.  The first recipient of this award

RM3 cropped

was Marine Lloyd Edwards who achieved an above 90% Distinguished score on this year’s Clerk Class 3 course. Since completing the course Marine Edwards has been able to put in to practice the operational lessons he has learnt by taking part on exercises on the landing ship, RFA Lyme Bay, and in Sennybridge in Wales.

In the main photo you can see the three winners and other members of the Royal Marines party present at the ceremony.  From left to right, Mne Aled Griffith, LCpl Julian Cousins, CSgt Jason Mills RM, Major Will Hale RM, the Master, WO1 Andy Crofts RM, WO2 Ben Brigs RM, Captain Darryl Foster RM, CSgt Darron Gould RM, Mne Barnaby Hodgkins, Mne Lloyd Edwards.  All photos taken by Lucie McCord.

The Worshipful Company
of Stationers
and Newspaper Makers

Stationers' Hall
Ave Maria Lane
London EC4M 7DD

Telephone: 020 7248 2934
Fax: 020 7489 1975