20160718 213607 Copy


The Young Stationers’ Prize

Applications for the 2018 Young Stationers’ Prize and five Young Stationers’ Awards are now open

Now in its fifth year, the Prize recognises someone under 40 who demonstrates noteworthy success in their career; how they have made an outstanding contribution to the sector in which they are working; or achieved success outside their immediate world of work in interesting ways which are relevant to the ethos and trades of the Stationers’ Company.

Past winners of The Young Stationers’ Prize have been Ian Buckley of Prima Software (2017); Ella Kahn and Bryony Woods, founders of Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency (2016, and seen in the photo above); Angela Clarke, novelist, playwright, and columnist (2015); and Katie Glass, of the Sunday Times (2014).

Who should apply?

Applications and nominations are welcomed from Stationers and non-Stationers alike. Candidates should apply to one of the categories below, representing the range of trades within the Stationers’ Company. An Award will be conferred in each – with the overall Prize being awarded to one of these winners.

  • · Print, Paper and Packaging
  • · Journalism and Communications
  • · Office Products and Supplies
  • · Publishing, Digital and Design
  • · Books and Archiving

Anyone can apply, or be nominated, for The Young Stationers’ Prize – candidates who nominate themselves, or who are not already members of the Stationers’ Company will not be at a disadvantage.

What is the judging criteria?

To qualify for the prize, nominees should be under the age of 40, and working in one of the trades represented by the Stationers’ Company. Applications will be evaluated against the following criteria:

  • · Quality of the written submission – clearly demonstrating why they should be considered for the award;
  • · Evidence of career success;
  • · Contribution to the sector, and to society more broadly, through their work;
  • · Attributes relevant to being a member of the Company and demonstrable interest in the Company’s activities.

When does this happen?

The deadline for applications is Friday, 22nd June 2018.

The winners will be announced at the Young Stationers’ Annual Dinner, on Monday, 16th July 2018. The shortlist will be announced in the preceding weeks.

Where should applications be sent?

Applications should be sent by email to ys@stationers.org.

How to apply?

We welcome both nominations or self-nominations for these awards. Applications should clearly indicate the Award for which they are applying and should include: a brief CV; a short statement by the nominator (or personal statement); and at least one additional letter of reference. They can also submit any supporting materials or specimens of work which they believe will strengthen their application.

NB: Candidates can also elect to send their application by post to Young Stationers’ Prize, c/o Stationers' Hall, Ave Maria Lane, London EC4M 7DD. If doing so, please also send an email notification to ys@stationers.org to ensure it is received.

Why apply?

The prizewinner’s name will be engraved onto the Young Stationers’ Prize trophy – kindly donated by the Worshipful Company of Pewterers – alongside those of past winners, thereby commemorating the achievement in perpetuity. In addition, each of the winners will receive a trophy, and eligibility to join the Stationers’ Company.

All of the winners will be announced at the Young Stationers’ Annual Dinner, culminating in the ceremonial passing of the Prize from the incumbent winner to the newly awarded recipient.




The Worshipful Company
of Stationers
and Newspaper Makers

Stationers' Hall
Ave Maria Lane
London EC4M 7DD

Telephone: 020 7248 2934
Fax: 020 7489 1975